Use our A to Z database list to browse or to search by a specific subject, format, or language.
*Please note that due to its size the A to Z list is slow to load
Or use the search box below to find databases.
Need more help finding or using a database?
Looking for subject resources?
Use our Subject Guides or book a consultation with a Subject Librarian.
Most Popular Databases
Academic Search Complete
Also known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937 to the present) provides indexing for the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.
DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals created for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
JSTOR contains fulltext academic journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher basis, by a "moving wall". The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years./p>
Lexi-Comp is a comprehensive drug information tool for use at the point of care. It contains clinical modules with information about drug interactions, identification, calculations, toxicology, and patient education. The indexes provide current generic and brand names for drugs used in the United States, Canada, and internationally for adult, paediatric, and geriatric populations. Natural product, infectious disease, and lab test information is also included.
Also known as APA PsycInfo. It covers the international literature in psychology. Topics include: applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, education psychology, experimental psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology, psychometrics, social psychology and sports psychology. Formats covered by this database are: journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid)
Also includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography (1926 to the present) covers literature in English and in other modern languages; linguistics; folklore. It includes books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. No abstracts are provided, and there are no listings for book reviews.
PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)
Also known as: |MEDLINE (PubMed version)| PubMed (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. Includes links to full text licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.
CPS (formerly RxTX)
Also known as: |e-Therapeutics+|Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties|eCPS|eTherapeutics|e-CPS| RxTx (formerly e-Therapeutics+) integrates content from CPhA's Therapeutic Choices and e-CPS(online version of Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties or CPS).
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.
Web of Science - All Databases
The Web of Science platform provides online access to their core Citation Indexes, and also hosts a number of subject-specific databases.